Posted in Education, Getting Healthy, Juice Plus+, Memories, Tower Garden, Work From Home, Young Living Essential Oils

Work At Home Parent

I am a work at home mom. Jack is a work at home dad when he is here, even while he is working. There are a few reasons why I work at home. I am bipolar and maintaining a “real” job has never been something I have been gifted with. When I am down, I am down and getting to work or staying at work is really hard for me me to accomplish. I help out in the middle of the night, in the middle of the day, or when I have the energy to do so. That part right there makes it hard to hold a normal job. I came to acceptance of those things long ago.

However being a work at home parent has a lot of misconceptions. Like you really don’t do anything and so maintaining the house as if you do nothing but housework, laundry, child rearing, pet keeper, taxi driver and whatever else title you have should be a piece of cake. So when you think about it, being a work at home parent has the same expectations as being a stay at home mom or a work out of the home mom. Basically what the biggest misconception comes down to being a fulfiller of everything, as if you are not doing anything. 

Being a work at home parent means you do have to work. You can sit back and do nothing and expect everything to just fall in your lap in the way of customers, downline, relationships and paycheck. Being a work at home parent is actually work. Depending upon what line of work you go into, most of the at home work comes from being an entrepreneur, and if that is the line of work you decide to go into it is work. Still it is the kind of work where you bust your bum when you can, where you can, but you can still enjoy life. The biggest benefit depending upon the company you choose is that once you have worked your bum off in the beginning, there does come a point when you don’t have to work as hard for the paycheck to come in. 


Have you ever wondered if  being a full time or part time entrepreneurer was something for you? Here are some things you need to know if you want to figure it out:

  • Can you work independently?
  • Can you work without much oversight?
  • Are you able to find something you are passionate about? 
  • Do you want to be able to be there for your child, school, plays, appointments without having to take time away from work?
  • Are you willing to work hard?

There is a lot that goes into being a work at home parent. I have been with just about every company that is out there. When I say every company, I mean just about every company out there. I have done jewelry, health products, vacuums, knives, more health and wellness, bags, make-up, more health and wellness, internet postings, envelope stuffing, home products, travel, candles and the list goes on. The biggest thing I have found though is that I have to be PASSIONATE about what I am doing or my interest fizzles out and fast. Not only do I need the passion but I have to truly 100% believe in and stand behind the products. If I am not willing to use the products, if I have an issue with the products, I might as well not even start.

Which brings up another point, do your research! While something might sound amazing and a lot of “representatives” will tell you what you want to hear, it is up to you to find out the facts. Ask to see the compensation plan, if you are doing it for that reason! Ask anything and everything you want to know. It is possible that the person you are talking to doesn’t know (I didn’t start Juice Plus for the business, so I am not well versed on that aspect yet but will be sooner or later) but you have every right to ask! Do not fall for pressure to join. I have done that far to many times. If you have someone who is forcing you to make a decision to join NOW, run!

This is my current view as I work from home. I am sitting in my comfy chair. I have my puppy at my feet. I have my TV turned on so I can listen to music. My children’s toys are in front of me. I still need to pick up the living room floor but I am in the comfort of my own home, working. I didn’t bring work home so it isn’t taking away from time from my family. This is where I work. I fit it into my life, I don’t fit my life into my work schedule. For the first time in my life I feel good about what my husband and I are doing. 
Yes, Jack still works a job outside of the house but that isn’t our ultimate goal. We have our eyes set on the future. We know what we want and what our goals are. We know what our retirement is, and it doesn’t come from the job he is currently working. Will he continue to work, yes but it is because he has to be doing something. He likes to feel needed, he likes leaving the house, it is something he needs to do. Maybe as life goes on, that will change but if we hit our goal tomorrow, he would continue to work for a while, because he enjoys it. Still we know what our retirement will be. That still sounds odd to say it, but it is the truth. 

We never expected that we would say, “WOW! This company has everything we have wanted and more.” And yet it does. Plus it is something that there is passion about. We have both come to realize how much our bodies need certain things. We have come to realize that we can either pay for our health now and later with junk food, medications and doctor visits or we can pay and take care of our health now and save on medications and doctor visits later while enjoying our health and our life. Yup, you bet we picked option two! 

You still have to know what you are working for though. Why do you want to be a work at home parent (and maybe you are not a parent just a person who doesn’t want to work for someone else!)? You have to keep your why in front of you or it is very possible you will lose your focus on the ultimate goal. One of our biggest whys are our children. We have four total, one who doesn’t live at home, one who is about to graduate high school and two who are  in elementary. Another why for us is being able to give more to our church in both tithing and gifts. Then there is the fact we want to be able to do things and enjoy life and help others enjoy life. 

We could just sit back and enjoy life where we are at. At times it can be stressful when it comes to finances but when I think about it, our other options seem so much more fun. By the time Bella is old enough to go on a mission trip I would love to be able to make a donation to her group to help those who may not be able to go otherwise. Do you know how amazing that would be? Even the thought of it gets me excited! I know there is always fundraising, but just like adults, not all children are good at that kind of thing. I avoided fundraising growing up (and a lot of time avoid it with my children and their stuff) and would bow out of things if it required I did that. I would love to be someone who could say, “It’s okay, let me help you.”

Find your passion! Mine has to do with health and wellness. Mine has to do with boosting our bodies naturally and helping to educate others. Mine has to do with building relationships and encouragement. 

What is your passion? Is it health and wellness? Do you care about your family? Do you a part time or full time work from home position? Talk to me! Tell me about it! Share what you are hoping for, because maybe just maybe what we are doing is what you have been looking for! I can’t wait to hear from you.

 

Author:

Wife~Mom~Grandma~Daughter of God ~ Lover of Photography~Elephants~Giving~ Writing~Inspiring~Balance

Leave a comment